Henri Sigfridsson

henri sigfridssonphoto: Marco Borggreve

Henri Sigfridsson, winner of the Second Prize of the Zurich Geza Anda Piano competition 2000, not only impressed the Jury under the chairmanship of Vladimir Ashkenazy, but also won the hearts of many members of the public who attended the final concert in the Zurich Tonhalle, and he walked off with the Geza Anda Audience Prize. In 2005 he won the First Prize at the Beethoven International Piano Competition in Bonn, where he got the Audience Prize and Chamber Music Prize as well. Since 2006 he was invited as a Jury to the Liszt Piano Competition.

Sigfridsson began studying with Sävy Nordgrén at the Turku Conservatory and later at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki (Prof. Erik T. Tawaststjerna). He completed his studies at the Musikhochschule Köln with the highest distinction (Prof. Pavel Gililov). During 1995–97 he studied at the Franz Liszt Musikhochschule in Weimar (Prof. Lazar Berman).

As a soloist Sigfridsson has regularly played in the foremost concert halls from Central Europe to Asia from Viennas Musikverein to Tokyo´s Bunka Kaikan. He has played with numerous leading orchestras in Europe; the Zurich Tonhalle Orchestra, the St. Petersburg Philharmonics, the Camerata Salzburg under the baton of prestigious conductors such as Vladimir Ashkenazy, Dennis Russell Davies, Jukka-Pekka Saraste, just to mention  a few.

Henri Sigfridsson feels a very deep commitment to chamber music. He has among others appeared with Leonidas Kavakos, Gidon Kremer, Ivry Gitlis, Mischa Maisky, Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Sol Gabetta, Johannes Moser.

During 2008–2009 Sigfridsson had a professorship at the Graz University or Music and Dramatic Arts. Since 2010 he is Professor at the Musikhochschule Hans Eisler in Berlin and now at the Folkwang Universität der Künste, Essen. Beside his carrier as professor and concert pianist he is the Artistic Director of the concert series in Turku at the Wäinö Aaltonen Museum. From the year 2013 Henri Sigfridsson is appointed Artistic Director of the Korsholm Music Festival.