Serlachius Museum Gösta

The Pavilion

In summer 2014, beside the Art museum’s manor, rose the extension which enables exhibitions larger and more versatile than before. The pavilion tripled the exhibition spaces; now Gösta has a total of 1500 sq.m. exhibition space. The extension contains also modern conservation facilities, a magnificent restaurant with a beautiful view, a festive hall and a spacious museum shop.

An international general architectural competition was organised to design the art museum’s extension. In total 579 entries from 42 countries were included – largest amount ever in the history of architectural competitions in Finland. MX_SI architectural studio from Spain was chosen a winner.

The Manor

The manor was completed in 1935 as the mill owner Gösta Serlachius’ private residence, where he also entertained business acquaintances. The first floor of the building designed by Finnish architect Jarl Eklund has served as a museum since 1945. The museum was the seventh art museum in Finland at that time. The entire building was opened as an art museum in 1984. The exhibitions at the Manor showcase the Fine Arts Foundations’ own collections and artworks from the Golden Age of Finnish art.

Source: www.serlachius.fi