David Munk-Nielsen

Danish-born David Munk-Nielsen (b. 1998) is the winner of the 2021 Tampere Piano Competition. Munk-Nielsen is also the recipient of the following awards: first prize in the Tallinn International Piano Competition in Estonia (2021), first prize in the International Stasys Vainiunas Competition in Lithuania (2018), and second prize in the Aarhus International Piano Competition (2019) in Denmark.

A pianist who rises effortlessly above musical and technical challenges of great compositions, Munk-Nielsen is known for mastering big entities and the architecture of music. In Mänttä, he will perform, among other works, Stravinsky’s Three Movements of Petrushka. In its grandness, descriptiveness, and richness of colors, this composition is one of the most demanding in piano literature.


No intermission. Concert ends approximately at 16:00.
Program is subject to alteration.


Ludwig van Beethoven: Piano Sonata in C minor Op. 111

Jean Sibelius: Five Esquisses Op. 114 (1929)

Igor Stravinsky: Trois mouvements de Pétrouchka (1921)