In summer 2014, beside the Art museum’s manor, rose a new extension, tripling the available exhibition space to a total of 1500 square meters, enabling larger and more versatile exhibitions. The extension also contains modern conservation facilities, a magnificent restaurant with a beautiful view, a festive hall, as well as a spacious museum shop.
An international general architectural competition had been organised to design the art museum’s extension. In total 579 entries from 42 countries were included – the largest amount of entries in the history of Finnish architectural competitions. MX_SI architectural studio from Spain was chosen as the winner.
The manor was completed in 1935 as the mill owner Gösta Serlachius’ private residence, where he also entertained business acquaintances. The first floor of the building, designed by Finnish architect Jarl Eklund, has served as a museum since 1945. The entire building was opened in 1984. At the time, the museum was only the seventh art museum in Finland. Exhibitions at the Manor showcase the Fine Arts Foundation’s own collections of artworks from the Golden Age of Finnish art.
Intermission services and concert dinners
Reservations for intermission services and concert dinners are available directly from Restaurant Gösta.
Source: Serlachius Museot