Skip to main content

A Moment with Piano I – Waters

Sunday 28 July 2024 12.00 PM

A Moment with Piano I – Waters

Ticket prices
Free admission
Serlachius Manor

The concert is organised in collaboration with the Finnish Freshwater Foundation. 

The concert will feature students from the Finnish Youth Piano Academy and the pianist and artistic director of the Mänttä Music Festival, Niklas Pokki. The programme includes the world premiere of a new piano work by Cecilia Damström, Unda.

The duration of the concert is approximately 30 minutes.


The Youth Piano Academy Finland is a coaching group for talented young pianists. It aims to create an inspiring and supportive environment where promising young pianists can learn from top teachers and from each other. The Youth Piano Academy Finland is part of the Instrument Academies Association which also includes the String Academy and the Brass Academy. Read more about the Youth Piano Academy Finland.

Cecilia Damström (b. 1988) has become known as a versatile and skilled composer, mastering many different forms of expression, from chamber and vocal music to children's operas and works for symphony orchestra. Damström's way of dealing with the world around her and the problems of our time is a common thread running through her compositions. Damström was the first woman to receive the Teosto Prize for classical music in 2022 for her work ICE and is nominated for the 2024 Nordic Council Music Prize for her work Extinctions. Read more about Cecilia Damström.

The Finnish Freshwater Foundation is a nonprofit organisation working to improve the state of fresh waters - lakes, rivers and small waters - in Finland and to safeguard the cultural heritage of those waters. The mission of the foundation is to safeguard the cultural heritage and save our clean waters for the future generations. Read more about the Finnish Freshwater Foundation.


Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
Au bord d’une source

Maximilian Fagerlund

Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
l’Isle Joyeuse

Ella Oksava

Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
Reflets dans l’eau

Julia Elomaa

Joonas Kokkonen (1921-1996)
Suite Pielavesi:
I Preludietto
II Nocturne 

Atte Kohtala

Cecilia Damström (b. 1988)
Unda (premiere) 

Niklas Pokki